B.A. Van Sise is an author and photographic artist with three monographs: the visual poetry anthology Children of Grass: A Portrait of American Poetry with Mary-Louise Parker, Invited to Life: After the Holocaust with Neil Gaiman, Mayim Bialik, and Sabrina Orah Mark, and On the National Language: The Poetry of America’s Endangered Tongues with DeLanna Studi, Philip Metres, Crisosto Apache, James Aronhióta's Stevens, Lehua Taitano, and dg opkik.

He has previously been featured in solo exhibitions at the Center for Creative Photography, the Skirball Cultural Center, the Woody Guthrie Center, and the Rockefeller Arts Center, as well as in group exhibitions at the Peabody Essex Museum, the Museum of Photographic Arts, the Los Angeles Center of Photography and the Whitney Museum of American Art;  a number of his portraits of American poets are in the permanent collection of the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery. His literary work has been featured in Poets & Writers, The North American Review, Nowhere, the Los Angeles Review, Tupelo Quarterly, The Southampton Review, Eclectica, The Night Heron Barks, Cutleaf, Hayden’s Ferry Review, thimble, the Santa Clara Review and The Intrepid Times, among many others. He is a member of the National Book Critics Circle and he is a frequent reviewer of poetry and photography titles for the New York Journal of Books.

In photography he has been a finalist for the Meitar Award for Excellence in Photography, and is a Phillip and Edith Leonian Foundation grant recipient, a two time Prix de la Photographie Paris award-winner, a New York State Council on the Arts/New York Foundation for the Arts Fellow in Photography, and winner of the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences' Anthem Awards for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.  For nonfiction he has been a finalist for the Travel Media Awards for feature writing and is a winner of the Lascaux Prize for Nonfiction, and for poetry he has been a finalist for the Rattle Poetry Prize and a winner of the Colonel Darron L. Wright Memorial Writing Awards. He is a two-time winner of the Independent Book Publishers Awards gold medal: once for History and once for Poetry. 

Using Format